Daily Archives: March 1, 2012

attempt…

earlier this week i had a client in my office that informed me she had been in the hospital. that isn’t all that out of the ordinary for me. a lot of clients do not have a family physician and use the ER for those purposes. others will seek medications to fill the void of a drug habit they are trying to kick. still others deal with mental illness of varying types and degrees. but i didn’t think this young lady fit any of those molds. so i inquired as to why she was there…

this lead to a story involving an overdose on anti-depressant medication, three days in the ICU, and another five days on the psychiatric unit. but she was there to tell me about it all because this act of trying to take her own life was merely an…

attempt…

i was instantly drawn back to a phone call i received last may. (you can read about that here.) the gist is that i lost a cousin to suicide. two parents lost their son. three beautiful little girls lost their daddy…in that moment, talking to this young lady, i couldn’t help but think that i wanted to be able to have that same conversation with joel. i wanted to be able to talk with him about what had happened and what was going on in his life. i wanted his act to simply be an…

attempt…

so i find myself again asking questions and seeking to bring hope to people in need of it! this morning i was reading in isaiah and specifically the 65th chapter. the very first verse brought tears to my eyes because i can see God saying the words and i can feel His disappointment.

The LORD says, “I was ready to respond, but no one asked for help. I was ready to be found, but no one was looking for me. I said, ‘Here I am, here I am!’ to a nation that did not call on my name…”

i don’t know everything that this young lady was going through…i don’t know everything that my cousin joel was going through…and i definitely don’t know everything that you’re going through right now. but i know a God who is ready to respond and longing for you to find Him. so if you’re considering taking your own life for any reason, i’m begging you to STOP even before it becomes an…

attempt…

God is longing to rescue you. He longs to spend time with you and for you to get to know Him. He longs to cover you with His love, His grace, and His mercy. He longs to be your Savior. not only that, God has gone to great length to make those things happen. yet it’s a decision that you have to make. a decision to put the needle, the blade, the pills, the bottle, the keys, or the gun…DOWN! i’m begging you to take Him up on the offer and to make His efforts more than an…

attempt…

Tagged , , ,